Amelie is 6 months old today

family-6-months.gif

It is Amelie’s 6 month-day today.  It’s hard to believe that she has been in our lives for six months already/only!  She’s such a funny little bug.  Today she was working on increasing her vocabulary, experimenting with putting little “L’s” into her usual “Bah, Bah, Bah’s”.  Blah, blah, blah.  She’s been enjoying “bah-bah-bah-ing” for a week or two now.  A few days ago, Lia and I were playing with Lia’s electronic Word Whammer (you press a letter and it tells you the name of the letter and then the sound it makes).  So Lia pressed the letter B, and it said, “buh, buh, buh”.  And Amelie’s head came up and you could just see the little light come one, I can say that!  So she joined in “buh, buh, buh-ing” with the letter B.  We’ve got geniuses for children, what can I say.
I stopped in at the education store today to see if I could pick up some manipulatives for Lia.  I was looking specifically for the busy board that has a zipper, and a button, and a snap, etc.  $30.  Yikes, no wonder all the Montessori books give directions on how to make your own.  Doctor dress-up kit?  $30.  Stacking cups?  $5.  But cheaply made and not nearly as cool as the Discovery Toys ones I grew up with.  So I saved us $65 by leaving it all there on the shelf.  I DID, however, pick up two small metal rings.  (34 cents, now that’s affordable).  And when I got home I made a little read-on-a-ring thing, like Grandma made for me when I was learning to read.

ring-read.gif

It says “bat”, for all you non-dyslexics.  (iPhoto won’t mirror it for me).  Anyhow, you get the point.

It is made with a ring and flash cards.  One big card has the word “at” it, and then smaller cards have one letter so that as you flip the cards you can read rhyming words like bat, cat, fat, rat, etc.  Lia knows her letters and her sounds pretty well, so I’m eager to see if I’m really jumping the gun here, or if it’s something she can do.  She has started, the last few days, asking ‘what does this word say?’ when we’re reading, so I don’t think I’m being TOO premature.  I tried showing it to her today, but she was still grumpy after her nap and wasn’t interested.
Amelie graduated to eating carrots day before last.  She really likes carrots, really likes anything that we give her to eat.  Including the playdo that I caught Lia giving her yesterday.  I turned around after hearing the alarming words, “Here, Amelie, eat it.”, just in time to rescue Amelie before she took a big bite of blue playdo.  Now our glob of blue playdo is mixed with slobber.
Both girls like to ride in our uber stroller – now transformed into bike carrier.  We got Devo a new bike on Monday (and a used one from Carmen for me, hooray!), and he’s been taking them around for rides.  Yes, Mom, they stay on the sidewalk.  As soon as our camera gets back from the shop I will take a picture.  I tried pulling them in the parking lot of the church, but I’m not ready for anything more than that.  It’s been so long since I’ve ridden a bike, I’m kinda wobbly.
Carmen brought Babar’s Yoga for Elephants for Lia the other night.  What a great book!  It’s just as good as an adult’s intro to yoga book, and has the benefit of child-like happiness.  Pre-nap and pre-bedtime reading sessions have not been snuggly since.  No, one person reads and everyone else does yoga.  Like the elephants.

Leave a Reply

