Nice Sunday

Today was a nice day.  Although, come to think of it, it started with a whole string of angst-ridden dreams.  One of my friends who has renounced my friendship showed up…but she’s a regular in my dreams.  Then there was the one where Devo said, nastily, “Yeah, well I work for a living.”  And I threw a hissy fit.  And then tried to mask my hissy fit because my dear mother-in-law was there making waffles on our 2 new waffle irons (apparently I’m craving waffles, and I don’t have a waffle iron to make them on).  Devo has apologized twice today for being so terrible in my dream…but I’ve assured him that I’m reasonably sure the dream was more about my desire to throw a fit (use strong, socially unacceptable emotions) than about his (always positive and affirming) perceptions of my stay-at-home-mom-ness.  And there were several more in the same vein.  Which is too bad, because a few nights ago I had really nice dreams…just interesting and pleasant…the kind that make me more regretful than usual to wake up in the morning.
Back to the nice day.  The girls let us sleep in until 7:30am.  What a treat!  I got to shower and dress all by myself.  (In fact, I even locked the door and took a short bath…I’m telling you, it’s been a nice day).  We went to Target, always fun, and Best Buy (smelled like a locker room), and to Oasis for gluten steak sandwiches and fries (yum!).
Then I took a nap.
I woke up, without being woken up.  Cleaned the house just a little (the house is still slightly out of control…but so am I).  And rode my bike to the church.  I spent a very happy hour and a half practicing.  I warmed up, then started in on Christmas music, since I won’t be having any this year due to our South Africa trip.  O Holy Night, The First Noel, and a new Madonna’s Slumber Song that’s really pretty and haunting.  Then I got sidetracked by Liszt.  So by the time I got to Mozart’s Exsultate Jubilate, which is what I’m really working on, I was all warmed up.  By the time Devo and the girls came to pick me up, I was wishing I could bottle up my voice…it was on tonight!  High C’s just ringing, everything hitting that perfect spot.  <sigh>
We had linguine for dinner with a fresh tomato sauce flavored with herbs from our garden.  Devo lit our duraflame log…our first fire.  And we watched “The Vicar of Dibley” until Amelie got too fussy and we had to shut it off (she currently sleeps in the living room).  And now it’s 8:23 and the girls are asleep and we’re ready for a nice quiet evening.

Leave a Reply

