Quesadilla Nirvana

pioneer woman's quesadillas


The Pioneer Woman Cooks (one of my favorite blogs) suggested these quesadillas for Super Bowl Sunday.  Well, we made them on Monday, not Sunday, but that didn’t detract from the flavor.  Or the beautiful presentation.  (Please note my photo…I PURPOSEFULLY focused it on the salsa and quesadilla <gasp>…it really helps to read the manual).  
 
Devo and I made them together, and we almost had a truly good time doing it! This is a high compliment for a couple who usually collaborate in dour silence.  Why we, the perfect couple,  haven’t managed to learn how to cook together happily yet is one of the world’s great mysteries.  We’ve made a Happy Cooking Resolution in honor of our 5th anniversary and Pioneer Woman Cooks is going to be one of our tools to accomplish it.  
 
Last night, I was happily frying things in butter and sent Devo to the computer to check on the ingredients for pico de gallo.  He came back 15 minutes later knowledgeable and empowered and made the guacamole all by himself.  
 
The quesadillas were absolutely delicious.  And, being somewhat of a purist in this regard, I detest vegetables in my quesadillas.  But I have made an exception.  A big bite heaped with guacamole, pico de gallo, and sour cream is a fast pass to nirvana.  
 
I was looking forward to Round 2 for lunch today, but we’ve all succumbed to colds and I’m craving something more along the lines of my aunt Carol’s Kale & Bean Soup.  <sigh>  I love food.
4 thoughts on “Quesadilla Nirvana

  1. Pingback: Bigger House, more room for people « spinning in my teacup

  2. Oh my goodness, I love this recipe! It is so beautiful! It is the makings of a Sandi/Patti party. Sniff. Why did she move to Hawaii. I am going to make it soon any way, alone. Will be good for the family reunion!

  3. Pingback: Endurance « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

