The Question of Politics

Someone in my house has been wildly interested in the campaign for the presidency. And it’s not me.

It’s my husband. Who is a South African citizen and therefore unable to vote (I find this to be funnily ironic). He is red-hot in favor of [shall remain unnamed] and follows the campaign news with a sort of breathless excitement.  It is a current favorite activity of ours to speculate on the political views of the people we know. Fairly useless exercise, but entertaining none-the-less.

On Super Tuesday, I was headed out to vote (he was trying not to be jealous) and he asked me who I was going to vote for. And I opened my mouth to tell him and then closed it again. I didn’t know what to do.

Is it okay to tell your spouse who you are voting for? What about your friends? What about the people you kind of know or don’t know at all?

And following along that line, if you do self-disclose, what are the repercussions going to be and will they be worth it?

2 thoughts on “The Question of Politics

  1. I think you tell. Mostly because we can learn from each other’s reasons. However, I never tell the people I work with which way I will vote for fear, I suppose. I honestly think I’m in the minority there 🙂 Happy Voting!

Leave a Reply

