It Ain’t Easy Being Green

kermit.jpg

Easter Sunday, I looked out my car window at the row of plastic covered Easter baskets. You know what I’m talking about. Those baskets of sweets, stuffed animals, and cheap plastic toys that show up on the side of the road at every major holiday. I thought of the people who labor to manufacture the baskets and shuddered. I thought of the waste and pollution of natural and unnatural resources that went into making these garish roadside offerings and shuddered. Waste, waste, waste.

So what did Lia get at the Easter party, but an Easter basket. Figures.

Here it is, in all its glory. I tried to Photoshop it and give it a radioactive glow, but failed.

easter-basket.gif

*Please note that the love and thoughtfulness in which it was given is in no ways on trial here.

I allowed the Resident Shoe Fanatic to extract the high-heeled plastic shoes and banished the rest of it to the garage. We are now left with a number of plastic items of little use or lasting interest.

What am I supposed to do with it now? What would be the most environmentally and socially responsible thing to do? I am now an unwilling participant in The Story of Stuff and I would like to extricate myself in the best way possible.

I wonder what the people who make these things think of us. Capitalists. Wasteful wantons. Selfish pigs. Self-indulgent gluttons.  Sounds about right.

As I see it, I have three options.

1) Keep the stuff. Force my children to play with it. Keep it until I have grandchildren and then force them to play with it. Pass it on to the next generation. After all, plastic is not biodegradable, so the toys should be around for a number of years before they completely disintegrate.

2) Recycle. Do you think these things are recyclable? There are no arrowed triangles…hmmm.

3) Donate it to the nearest charity. Pass the ever-lasting toys to parents with limited means, and let them make the moral decision whether or not to spend their precious money on plastic items for their children’s amusement. One family’s trash is another family’s treasure.

It’s time for a vote. What do YOU think will be the GREENest thing to do? I will abide by your decision. Unless, of course, you vote for option 1.

3 thoughts on “It Ain’t Easy Being Green

  1. There are alot of little girls who would be thrilled to be the recipent of those toys. donate it to some little girl who has always wanted a barbie! Make a little girl somewhere happy!

  2. It’s probably coated in lead anyways. Recycle it. Or at least put it in the recycling bin. Then if the poor person that sorts the stuff from the recycle bin thinks his kids would like it he’ll take it, otherwise it will be melted and poured into another Easter basket for next year.

Leave a Reply

