And the Story Repeats Itself

Once again, with increasing frequency, I become my mother.  It’s a good thing I like her and want to be like her because it appears that I am becoming just that.

Tonight, coming home at bedtime…

Child:  Mommy, I’m hungry.

Mommy:  We already ate dinner.

Child:  Mommy, I’m hungry!

Mommy: <sigh> Well, drink a glass of soymilk.

Child:  I don’t wanna drink milk!

Mommy:  It’s milk or nothing at all.

And the funniest thing is that I was just recounting this particular memory to Devo just a few nights ago, reliving the childish frustration that my usually indulgent and loving mother would not open the kitchen and cook me the meal I desired at 8 o’clock at night, after we had already eaten supper.  <sigh> What goes around comes around.

She ended up eating cold pinto beans.  And drinking milk.  Yech.

2 thoughts on “And the Story Repeats Itself

  1. What a mean mommy!!! But I have gone soft. Personally, my favorite hungry at bedtime soymilk is chocolate silk! I read in an article regarding getting better sleep if you have tryptophan and carbs at bedtime you sleep better, so the researcher prefers milk and cookies at bedtime! Isn’t that great to have research recommending that! But does soy milk have tryptophan? Hmmmmm Chocolate silk and grandpa Harlan’s walnut cookies!! Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

