Family Traditions, 1

Apparently we’ve been asked to do a seminar on Family Traditions at a Children’s Ministry conference later this year.  (Janeen, is that right?)  Which sounds really cool.  Except that it means that we need to hurry up and get some family traditions so that we know what we’re talking about.  Haha.  The funniest thing is that I just googled “Family Traditions” two days ago, just because I was interested.  All things work together…

So I’m putting a call out–Family Traditions and Rituals, please!  I’m sure that all of you have either experienced or heard of family traditions.  Could you please share them?  If I was Pioneer Woman, I would give a Kitchen Aid mixer to a selected commenter, chosen at random from 10,000 entries.  But I’m not, so I will instead promise that you, dear readers, will be included in the resources list of the final compilation.  Not as useful, but definitely heart-felt.

Here are some categories I’ve thought of (feel free to give category ideas, too…anything goes!)

Holidays (Christmas, Easter, etc)

Random un-holidays (such as International Waffle Day or Talk Like a Pirate Day)

Bedtime or mealtime rituals

Liturgical year traditions

Down-time rituals

Family worship

Hospitality rituals

Birthdays

Etc., etc., etc.

Thank you! Mwa, mwa, mwa….

4 thoughts on “Family Traditions, 1

  1. We go to my in laws’ house every Friday and spend 3-4 hours with them. Camping is also a family tradition for us. The boys really enjoy it. I will let you know of more when I am awake…

  2. You’re right, Leilani. As for the traditions – what about Jamba Juice? And your Christmas day tradition? Saying your psalm before meals? I think you have been doing the hard work of establishing traditions already, my friend.

  3. Eatting too much Sabbath Dinner(gluttony) and having to quickly go on a hike to ameliorate the onset of the Sabbath afternoon nap (sloth).

    Is that inspirational enough?

    The Cradle Roll and Young Adult Class (aka the Mommies and the Daddies) get together with their kids on Friday night for a supper of bring-your-favorite-topping tacos and wild kidlett play.

  4. I just ran across your post and I wanted to share my website, Cafe Traditions (www.CafeTraditions.com). The goal of the site is to serve up inspiration for visitors to create traditions in their lives. We believe traditions are a key to making lasting memories and enriching our souls.

    In addition, I have an article specifically on the importance of family traditions that may be helpful for you.
    http://www.cafetraditions.com/The-Importance-of-Family-Traditions-W4C20.aspx

    Hope this helps. I would love to hear your feedback and I would certainly appreciate if you share the site during your seminar. Of course, we are always looking for new traditions to add to our site, so please feel free to share your ideas.

    Kind Regards,
    Colleen Carmona
    http://www.CafeTraditions.com

Leave a Reply

