We’re Back, I’m Back

After an unexpected and extended hiatus (thanks, guys, for missing me, that’s so sweet), I’m back home and back on my blog.

I survived the 20 hours of traveling solo with a 3 year old and a 1 year old.  Actually I succeeded brilliantly…despite spilling Lia out of the stroller when Amelie made a dash for the road at the Hawaii airport.  (Did YOU expect there to be a road with cars inside an airport terminal?  I did not.)  But that was a minor problem in the face of all the things that COULD have happened…but mercifully didn’t.  Besides, I had the vision of a daughter-in-law of a friend’s friend who traveled the week before from Guam to Georgia all alone with her FIVE children–ages infant, 2, 3, 6, & 8.  If she could do it, I could do it.

And so I did.  And now credit the experience to something worthy of being put on a resume.  Or tatooed on my forehead.  Or used in general introductions.

But I digress.

(I’m kidding.  It actually was no big deal.)

We got back in time for the last few days of VBS.  Congratulations Janeen on putting on yet another great program!  The nutty professor in the white wig leading the band was my personal favorite.  (It was Devo).

We have a really big program here…almost 300 children and this year something like 170 staff members.  It was my first year as a parent, not as staff coordinator and general troubleshooter with my finger in all the pies.  Interesting transition. It’s nice just being…a mommy.

And now, with four days of 13 hours of sleep per night (what angel is keeping my children asleep and smiling down on me?) under my belt, I am up “early” today and ready to rock and roll.  So here is the plan:

  • I have chosen a pile of pictures to share here and will upload them as time allows.  This morning the pictures I uploaded aren’t showing up on wordpress, but I’m not letting that dampen my enthusiasm.  I will resist my perfectionist tendencies and continue blogging even if I do not succeed in creating a stellar pictorial collection of the last few weeks.
  • I will make a list of all the things I have in my cupboards in an effort to convert to once-a-month shopping.  I love making lists, whether I use them or not.  But because of the price of gas and my newly incurred debt from changing my travel dates, I’m determined to learn a few new frugal tips.
  • I’m going to weed my garden.  It’s a jungle out there.  6 weeks worth of weeds.  I lost some vegetables and herbs, but I made my first harvest yesterday and literally reaped the rewards of my labor.  You just have to separate the weeds to get to the vegetables.
  • I am going to go grocery shopping.  No, not the once a month shopping, just some basics until I figure out what on earth once a month shopping actually is.  I’m just enamored with the idea of only shopping once a month.  I don’t really know how on earth that is supposed to work.

Anyhow, thanks again for missing me.  I considered blogging during the last few days, but there are only so many times I can write, “We went swimming today”.  Hahaha.

4 thoughts on “We’re Back, I’m Back

  1. I am so glad “we went swimming today” frequently! I loved the pictures sniff sniff. It sure was fun. Miss you all soooo very much. Cleaned the pool, filter, neighbors brushcutting remains etc from around the pool today (finally) and had to sniff. Wished I was cleaning for my little dolphin princess Belle to go swimming in!

    Good luck on the shopping once a month. That is my ideal too! But the problem is, when you do go the price tag is so overwhelming! Easier to take it in smaller amounts. But then with the price of gas, I need to cut my shopping expeditions way down too.

    You inspire me with your garden, I really need to cultivate a green thumb!

  2. Pingback: Once a Month Shopping « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

