Taco Soup

My cousin Lea sent this recipe to me awhile back. I trusted her good judgment and made it for Friday night dinner and was rewarded for my faith! It’s sooooo easy, and sooooo yummy, and even the teenagers liked it and slurped it down. Which must mean that it didn’t seem too much like a vegetable.

As you can see, I made a gigantic batch using the large cans from Smart and Final…enough for 25 kids, 3 meals, and 4 frozen bags. Not bad for fifteen minutes of can opening and one pot to wash (and Devo did all the work!).

The cans look remarkably like a choir. With the olive oil conducting.

Taco Soup

optional diced onions

optional meat, preferably fake (TVP!)

1 can Rotel (tomatoes with chilies)

1 can diced tomatoes

3 cans beans (1 each of black, kidney, and pinto)

1 can corn

1 can water, if needed

1 pkg. taco seasoning

optional 1 pkg. Ranch dressing

optional cilantro

Saute onions and ‘meat’. Add all the ingredients, including the juices except for the can of black beans. Unless you like muddy looking soup. Let simmer for 1-2 hours until all the flavors come together. Great for the crockpot!

Garnish with cilantro and serve with a dollop of sourcream, tortilla chips, and/or grated cheese.

8 thoughts on “Taco Soup

  1. Thank you for posting this recipe! I have been waiting for this. Lea, thanks for this wonderful recipe! I am a “chef boy R D” cook – as in favorite recipes are the open the can/package, minimal cooking time type vs. the “Julia Child’s” (ok, so the titles date me!) cook – as in lots of ingredients, lots of prep time. So this recipe will be a favorite, I’m sure!

  2. Served it at potluck today and it was a huge hit! Cold (ok that is relative since this IS Guam!) rainy day so it was perfect. A hit with me too as it was so fast and easy to prepare. Thanks!

  3. I’m so glad it’s been a hit! I am waiting for a cooler day to make some more – I am out of my freezer stash!

  4. I just found this recipe through Google, it looks great! I’m the ‘soupmeister’ at our church this Sunday and I need to make soup for 100. I’m sure this is obvious since I’m the only one asking, but are the cans equal size (or at least close?). I notice you have different size cans in the pic and since I only get one shot, I want to be sure to do it right.

    Thank you! 🙂

  5. Sorry, I know this is months later. But yes, the cans are basically the same size. Give or take. Luckily the recipe can’t be harmed too easily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

