Prop 8

I’m just a little peeved.  And disappointed.

Since when does the SDA church tell me how to vote?  Or even strongly encourage a specific vote?  Or even endorse a position on what is obviously a divisive issue?

Prop 8 is on the ballot here in California next week.  To quote wikipedia, in case you don’t know what that is:

Proposition 8 is an initiative measure on the 2008 California General Election ballot titled Eliminates Right of Same-Sex Couples to Marry. If passed, the proposition would “change the California Constitution to eliminate the right of same-sex couples to marry in California.” A new section would be added stating “only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.”

According to the bulletin insert from Church State Council of Seventh-Day Adventists (entitled “YES on CA Prop 8”) that is supposed to go into church bulletins in California and Arizona this week, to vote no on prop 8 would:

“rebel against the authority of God and the wisdom of his law by voting in favor of same sex marraige.”

Mighty strong language when the church itself is divided on this.

AND, can I just say that I find their logic a little illogical?  To vote no on eliminating the right of same-sex couples to marry is NOT the same as voting for same-sex marriage.  Hello.

But what really gets my goat is that my church is telling me how to vote instead of telling me to study the issues for myself and vote according to my own conscience under God.

I think a better option would be like the one published in the Pacific Union Recorder. Balanced, brief, leaving the decision in the individual’s hands.

Anyhow, no matter what the officials say or think, I’m still going to do my own homework and form my own opinions and vote how I think I should vote.

And I encourage you to do the same.

http://churchstate.org/article.php?id=353

http://www.pacificunionrecorder.com/108/11/37017.html

3 thoughts on “Prop 8

  1. Thank you! I got an email this week with similar information. It incensed me. The language was typically propaganda language full of fear and a good measure of lies tied in. Truth be told, I don’t know how I will vote on this prop yet, but it disgusts me that people who associate themselves with my church would put out this kind of paraphenalia. Arrrgggh! When did this start happening in my church?

  2. Whatever you decide to do, put it as a matter of prayer — a soul-searching one. And may the prayer be just as Jesus prayed when He faced one of the most agonizing decisive moments of His life: “Lord, not my will but let your will be done.”

Leave a Reply

