Sense of Smell

I woke up a jillion times last night.  I smelled something.  It smelled remarkably like…rotten onions.  And it was bothering me.

I finally got up at 4:30 and prowled through the house to where I keep my root vegetables in a closet.  I couldn’t smell anything bad in the closet.  But I emptied everything out and found…a rotten onion.  In a plastic bag.

I threw out all the onions, rotten or not…took them out to the trash can.  And I took a bowl of cinnamon back to bed with me.  The most silent and non-chemical smell masker I could think of at 4:30 in the morning.

Talk about a heightened sense of smell in pregnancy.  A closed bag with a rotten onion fifty feet away through three rooms and a closet door.  And the smell bothers me enough that it interrupts my beauty sleep.

I’m up for hire for the next few months if anybody needs help identifying strange smells.

3 thoughts on “Sense of Smell

  1. Maybe thats why I can’t sleep lately. I wake up and everyone else (read, furry babies) are still fast asleep…and I don’t need to go to the bathroom (amazingly)…so I go back to sleep. Only to wake up again in 45 minutes. But maybe I’m smelling something….perhaps I should stay awake longer tonight and try to figure it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

