Reading Now

I’ve been reading the Anne of Green Gables series again.  And dreaming of beautiful dresses.  And beautiful places.

But this time I am skipping my least favorites of the series–namely “Anne of Windy Poplars” and “Rainbow Valley”.  Sometimes I read them just because I think I should.  But not this time.

My favorites are “Anne of the Island” and “Anne’s House of Dreams” and “Rilla of Ingleside”.  It’s really such a shame that so many people have never read the books.  If you are one of those unfortunates, I suggest visiting your local library as soon as possible.  🙂

Devo and I started a new book last night.  Non-religious.  We thought we’d get through faster if it wasn’t “work related”.  So we picked up our second Bill Bryson book…”A Walk in the Woods”…a travel book on his adventures hiking the Appalachian Trail.  We kept waking up the girls with our guffaws.

I had started it 7 years ago, in a tent, at night, off the Appalachian Trail in Shenandoah Valley with some good friends.  The first two chapters are primarily taken up with gruesome accounts of bear attacks.  Not exactly comforting reading when in the middle of no where.  (Remember, Tim?)

Anyhow, I’m looking for some new good books to put on my Christmas list this year.  Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Reading Now

  1. Peter just jumped and got both feet off the ground!

    Of course I remember that trip, and the crazy guy telling us about planes hitting buildings, and chanting was it “Meso Ramen”? on the way up the hill. And to think Laura was jealous that she never got to go on a road trip like that. Maybe some day, when I get up the courage, I’ll have to introduce her to Mrs. Polifax

    Uh oh, Peter just peed in mommy’s bath, I need to rescue her.

Leave a Reply

