Another New Year’s Resolution

I know, I know, I’m living in the past…Christmas carols and New Year’s Resolutions.  But I was swathed in toilet paper throughout the general season, so must revisit some things.

I thought that I was not inspired to make New Year’s Resolutions this year.  With the anticipated advent of Baby No. 3 in the spring, I figured it would suffice to resolve to have a baby and spend the whole year doing things related to having a baby.  Since that is how it is when you have a baby.

After all, there’s really no need to resolve to lose weight at the moment.  (Although, I do hope that our friend’s scale was wrong this evening…according to it I’ve gained 6 pounds in the last week.  I don’t feel like I’ve gained 6 pounds.  I don’t look like I’ve gained 6 pounds.).

But the spirit of newness is creeping in…maybe because today it was so warm and spring-like.  It was so warm that the girls actually played in the sprinkler.  Maybe it’s a newfound sense of adventure and accomplishment after surviving the last few weeks.

Whatever, whyever, here is my New Year’s Resolution.  The one I’ve come up with so far.

I hereby resolve to cook in a more organized and aesthetically pleasing fashion.

For example, when making peanut butter and jelly, I will now not toss things higgeldy piggeldy onto whatever open space there is on however many counters, but will put on one counter (and in this order) the plates, bread, peanut butter, and jelly.

Somewhere deep in the recesses of my mind, I must think that taking an extra 2.5 seconds to shove stuff into a more organized manner will result in dinner being an extra 15 minutes late.  But when thinking logically, I see that this cannot be true. I believe that this is a worthy (and don’t worry Mom, it’s not a compulsive) gesture in the direction of living a spacious life.

And maybe next year I can resolve to light a candle while I cook, or turn on soothing music, or take 10 minutes to sit down and put my feet up whilst dinner is cooking.

Or maybe not.

Leave a Reply

