The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 1

dirty dishes

Per our discussion (or, my soliloquy, as might be a more accurate description), I began the Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping by looking up quotes on cleaning.  Surely someone, somewhere has been on this Quest before me and has arrived at a meaningful conclusion.

When your dreams turn to dust, vacuum.  ~Author Unknown

Cleanliness is next to impossible.  ~Author Unknown

Housework, if it is done right, can kill you.  ~John Skow

Or, maybe not.

I turned my attention to that Fruit of the Spirit that didn’t make it onto the official list: perseverance.  Housekeeping takes a great deal of perseverance, I’d say. Here are the sages on perseverance–

One may go a long way after one is tired.  ~French Proverb

Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did.  ~Newt Gingrich

This was not going so well.  Perseverance seems to be more victory oriented  in common lore (and victory is definitely not related to housekeeping, which is the ultimate endeavor in ad infinitum.  It is the ultimate Song That Never Ends.

Okay, so what about endurance?  That seems to be more … enduring.

By bravely enduring it, an evil which cannot be avoided is overcome.  -Proverb

What can’t be cured, must be endured. -Proverb

This does not bode well for my Quest.

6 thoughts on “The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 1

  1. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 1 « spinning in my teacup | www.housekeepers.com

  2. That is EXACTLY how I feel tonight. One week of serious overtime and my house is a disaster. (I was doing so well, too.) Doesn’t bode well for busier times ahead. Perhaps the perseverance is continuing to try even if the task is overwhelming?

  3. I think you’ve struck a cord with all of us moms with this post. No advice from me… Just keep on keeping on 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 2 « spinning in my teacup

  5. I too went on a quest several years ago trying to figure out what housekeeping meant to me. I think I finally figured it out, but maybe not. We are always learning I guess.

    I wrote a blog post about myself and my philosophy of household management (linked above). My ultimate goal in household management is not an extremely clean home that passes the white glove test. It is about making a place where my children, my husband and I can feel loved and cared for.

    I see you have submitted additional posts on this topic since you wrote this one. I wish you luck as you figure out what housekeeping means to you!

Leave a Reply

