The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 5

Alternate Title : Till by turning, turning, we come round right.

Housekeeping, turn it into joy.

I’m going to have to recondition myself.  A lifetime of alternately despising, ignoring, and struggling with housekeeping will not be turned instantly into a consistently joyous task.  It’s going to take some work on my part.  Probably a lot of work.

Here’s some thoughts on how to go about doing that–

Teach myself to view it and experience it as joyful work instead of domestic drudgery.

Let each task say to God, “I love You, I love You, I love You.”  Dirty dish?  I love You.  Grime on the toilet seat?  I love You.  A lifetime of dishes equals a lifetime of love.

Find a quiet center in the middle of familiar routine.  The laundry room has grown into Mount Washmore?  Turn it into the Chapel of the Wash and Dry.

For further reading – Brother Lawrence’s classic, The Practice of the Presence of God (he worked in a kitchen, too).

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 4

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 3

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 2

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 1

5 thoughts on “The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 5

  1. “Grimie toilet seat…I love you” Okay that’s a little over the top there sweetheart. But I think you’re on to something….with the idea.

    Attitude really is everything. Keep up the good work. And um excuse me…but a name seems to be missing from the poll. Which name might that be? Ah you are so good….you guessed it…COOPER! It’s a great name. If you must I suppose you can use it as a middle name….Noah Cooper Stahl…..oh…ooo….um what’s your last name now?

  2. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 6 « spinning in my teacup

  3. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 7 « spinning in my teacup

  4. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 8 « spinning in my teacup

  5. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 9 « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

