Birth Art

One of my favorite birthing preparation books, Birthing From Within, does a lot with birth art.  Drawing, painting, sculpting, etc.  The only problem is that every time I try to draw/paint/sculpt, I end up using words.  Words speak to me.  Words satisfy.  Maybe that’s why I am a singer and not a pianist.

Which isn’t to say that I don’t respond to art…I do!  Especially birth art.  And women art.  If I didn’t think it would be just a little weird, my house would be filled with women and birth art.  Like this beautiful piece, Cradle of Love, by Nancy Bright.

Cradle of Love, Nancy Bright birth art

Rather than painting, I made a list of words that represent my beliefs and thoughts and experiences with labor and birth.  It’s a fairly comprehensive list, and now that I think of it, not necessarily an emotive list.  It might be an interesting exercise (or “inquiry”) to periodically make a smaller, shorter list of words that mean something specifically to me at the moment.  Then see how it changes over time as I get closer to Birth and as I work through and process my beliefs and fears.

Here it is, Leilani’s Birth Art.  (The artsy part came in when choosing colors and fonts at wordle.net).  Click on it to see it in full view.

word birth art

One thought on “Birth Art

Leave a Reply

