Switching the Day

Since the abolishment of naps a few weeks ago, our daily routine has been turned topsy turvy.  At least, the afternoon and early evening has been disrupted.

See, the problem with not taking naps means that everyone is very sleepy in the late afternoon and evening.  Which means that car rides and stroller rides put everybody right to sleep. Which means, no more car rides and stroller rides.

My internal clock seems to run as such:

Bustle around in the morning at home, getting house work and projects done.

Be more relaxed in the afternoon, solving the end of day slump by going for a walk or grocery shopping.

So now, without naps, we get to the time of day when everything falls apart…and we’re stuck at home with no energy or impulse to do anything invigorating.

And, even worse, I haven’t been getting out for any walks. Which leaves me tremulous, at best.

So I finally came to the conclusion that I’m going to have to change our internal clocks.  And today was the first day of the big switcharoo.

The big idea:

Be more relaxed in the morning, especially including exercise for Mommy and longer car trips.

Bustle around at home in the afternoon.  The biggest change being to make dinner the big cooking meal (instead of lunch).

So, accordingly, right after breakfast we went out for a walk.  Then we came home and didn’t know what to do with ourselves, because it wasn’t part of the usual daily flow.  Well, the little girls didn’t know what to do, and that was evidenced by much squabbling.

This afternoon we did some grocery shopping close by, because after all that walking MOMMY was too tired to deal with anything at home.  Which I’m going to pay for eventually.  Probably Friday.

I don’t like it, but I’m going to have to persevere.  I’m thinking of instituting an after-lunch 30 minute rest.  I’ve been more tired this week from the progressing third trimester, and am really missing that two hour midday nap.  🙂  A rest will at least give me…a rest.  Being on duty from the moment I wake up means that I need time to unwind after they go to sleep.  Which means I don’t go to bed early.

So tonight I’m going to try to unwind FASTER, and tomorrow we will try the whole thing again.  After all, tomorrow is another day.

I certainly hope it will be easier.

7 thoughts on “Switching the Day

  1. I came to the conclusion today that it’s really about finding a schedule that works for you. Just because I’m supposed to . . . doesn’t mean it’ll be true for me. I have to figure out what works for me and my kids. For example, Emma actually gets her homework done faster if she does it first thing when we get home from school instead of playing first and then sitting down to homework later. Who knew?

  2. I am giggling at the “unwinding faster.” Not to be rude or anything, I just find it humorous because there is absolutely no way I could accomplish it. And I really want a 2 hour daily nap. Though I’ve found that as long as I can get 20-30 minutes, I am much better equipped to handle the rest of my third trimester, 9 month pregnant day. (36 weeks!!)

  3. Having a rest period works really well for us. Lucas is almost 3 and he knows he has to be on his bed for an hour each afternoon. If he falls asleep, great. If not… at least I have a little bit of a break.
    Hang in there!

  4. definitely institute a rest time!! You’ll literally go crazy without one!! One gal I know even does one in the morning as well as the one in the afternoon. I typically do quieter things with my eldest, whilst my baby is taking his morning nap. and then it’s the hussle and bussle acompanied with lunch, we play some more and then its naptime whether they like it or not. my daughter went through several weeks of not wanting a nap and just laying there for hours (and calling me in ever few seconds for some reason or other.), but this finally wore off after perseverance and she typically takes her nap without any fuss like normal. (btw, she turned 2 in Nov. ) So, you may have just been up against a slump?? who knows! You go girl! love your blog.

  5. nap time is essential Leilani dearest! I know you did away with it for vaild reasons…but Leilani let’s think about this…who doesn’t want a nap??? other than children and what do they know?

Leave a Reply

