The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 6

Alternate Title: Teaching Our Children

I think we have a responsibility to teach our children the value of housekeeping through philosophy and the experience through practice.  Maybe to spare them some of the struggle we have against The Way It Is.

To endure is the first thing a child ought to learn, and that which he will have most need to know.  ~ Jean-Jacques Rousseau

I’ve thought over and over how the rhythms of school do not prepare us for Real Life.  Once school is finished, there are no series of accomplishments, no chance to start over with a clean slate every quarter, no awards at the end of the year.  (You only need to go to a two-hour end of the school year Awards Night to wonder if maybe we’re not just slightly overdoing this external award business).

Is it any wonder so many people are work addicts?  We’ve been conditioned to need external pats on the back since the age of 5!

Becoming a stay at home mom, a homemaker, stripped me of almost all of those external awards.  And it was tough.  (Although, now I must admit I’m becoming addicted to small sticky kisses).  But it’s made me dig deeper for true self-worth, self-purpose, self-image.

I want to give my children the ability to receive the internal rewards of a sense of faithfulness, the satisfaction of a job well done.  Housework, what a wonderful (and useful) place to start.

The rest of the “series”….

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 5

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 4

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 3

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 2

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 1

5 thoughts on “The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 6

  1. I agree wholeheartedly!! I’ve always been a seeker of external motivation and this transition to wife/mother/housekeeper has been TOUGH! I want to teach my children to enjoy whatever they’re doing, fun or mundane, just for the internal gratification. That sounds hard. 🙂 But I’ll work on it!

  2. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 7 « spinning in my teacup

  3. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 8 « spinning in my teacup

  4. Pingback: The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping - 9 « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

