The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 9

Alternate Title:  Housekeeping Redeemed-an everlasting moral developer

Here it is, the last of the series.  I meant to get to 10 parts in the series, but I’ve made my peace with housekeeping and am ready to focus on something new.

At the very beginning of this thought-journey, I thought to myself,

“I really do not want to still be whining about housework when I’m 80.”

Well, I imagine I’ll still whine occasionally (I am a human, after all, and subject to…real life)…but I can have hope that it will only be an occasional curling of lip, a temporary exasperation, an infrequent snack with cheese, not a way of life.

One of the many ways I look at housekeeping now is as an everlasting moral developer.  Something that is always around (and will always be around) to help me in my development of patience, endurance, perseverance, joy, meekness, and other prized possessions.

As a last thought on the subject, I’ll start with a quote from Dr. Renita J. Weems in her blog Something Within:

“…the daily obligations of having to clean up behind ourselves and those we care about serve as reminders to us of our inherent messiness and ability to wreak chaos around us.”

But we also have the ability to restore order, peace, and beauty.

I keep this stanza of John Greenleaf Whittier’s poem The Brewing of Soma on the bulletin board in front of my kitchen sink:

Drop Thy still dews of quietness,
Till all our strivings cease;
Take from our souls the strain and stress,
And let our ordered lives confess
The beauty of Thy peace.

The rest of the series…

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 8

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 7

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 6

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 5

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 4

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 3

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 2

The Quest for the Meaning of Housekeeping – 1

Leave a Reply

