Grandma’s Breakfast Cereal Recipe

Eating a late dinner of my Grandma’s yummy hot cereal recipe.  Been feeling a bit pale and wan today, so thought the extra iron intake would be a good idea.  As well as yummy, soothing, and (hopefully) an indigestion suppressor.

I’ve decided that I don’t like being left alone at nights these days.  Luckily Devo doesn’t have many nights with meetings.  But this happens to be one of them, hence the revelation.

And I’m really hoping that I go into labor mid-morning, when my energy and enthusiasm and courage are at their highest.  Not at night, when they are at their lowest.  And not after lunch, when they are their second lowest (naptime!).

Not that I have anything to say about it, of course.

So I’ve been working on the feng shui.  The top of the fridge is clean except for an ornamental candelabra (sadly still with only some of the candles).  And Karen came today for a prenatal and packed up some of her supplies, so the kitchen counters are clearing.  Maybe I should do the post office run tomorrow…those things are by the entrance.

Grandma’s Breakfast Cereal

And she says, tongue in cheek, “this IS rocket science so you must measure precisely and no variations”
1 box cream of wheat
1 box of zoom
1 box of malt-o-meal (the chocolate kind is apparently yummy, too)
equivalent to 1 box corn meal
equivalent amount (weight) of oatmeal (Grandma likes Old Fashioned, I like quick oats)

Some each oat bran, wheat bran, wheat germ  (too much bran and it will run right through you)

Then, mix equal parts ground almost and ground flax seed.  Add this to the above to make up one-third of the mixture.
Put it all into a very large container and mix well.

For two generous bowls of cooked cereal:
2 cups water
1/2 tsp salt
2  measures of dried fruits, raisins, cranberries, etc.  (cup your hand for the measure)
1 cup cereal

Start the water with salt and fruits.  When boiling whisk in the cereal.  Whisk vigorously for about a minute.  Serve with soymilk, real milk, bananas, whatever!

4 thoughts on “Grandma’s Breakfast Cereal Recipe

  1. Leilani: Before the ground flax seed meal you put in ground but not what. That is the almonds. I can’t get the zoom here – probably because the bugs like it so it doesn’t keep on the shelf. Sometimes I will also put in some cream of rice. Dr. says I need to eat more oatmeal so I need to get it out and start having a high-quality breakfast again. — love, Grandma

  2. Sounds yummy! I’ve been fighting a cold and now a fever since Tuesday, a hot/heavy meal sounds yummy 🙂

    Hope that little boy of your’s isn’t giving you any problems! In other words, I hope you’ve had him!!

  3. sounds delicious! i’m going to try this! however, I am the only hot cereal lover at my house. unfortunately. hannah gags it, nathan refuses it, and Mike would rather not. Boy! Can you believe it?!

  4. Actually, I don’t really like hot cereal either. (I was the gagger). But this is smooth and pleasant. Devo still doesn’t really care for it, but he’ll eat it if he has to. The girls, on the other hand, will finish a whole bowl (shock!).

Leave a Reply

