Affirmation Needed

It’s so nice to know that I will soon return to a normal emotional state.  That this post-birth state of being will indeed pass.  Eventually.

I attribute it to fluctuating hormones, yes.  But also to the miracle of having your heart torn open to let in all the love for the new baby.

Like that Elizabeth Stone quote: “Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”

That just takes a little time to get used to, that’s all.

But until then, I am a deep well of need.

People cannot tell me enough times that my baby is perfect.

That I’m looking really good.

That I’m a great mother.

That I did so well during labor and birth.

That my family is wonderful.

That I’m amazing, wonderful, admirable.

Devo cannot lavish on me enough affection.  My girls cannot hug me enough.  I cannot get enough different-flavored kisses (strawberry and chocolate milk seem to be the main flavors).  I cannot get enough of my snuggling, loving little baby.

I know beforehand to steel myself for (or avoid, if possible) the person who always finds fault with my mothering and the one who always thinks I’m looking badly (and if I’m not, they’re surprised and taken aback in a mournful way).  I let Devo read all the nasty world news and keep it from me.  I can only handle happy happy happy things at the moment.

But let me tell you, it sure is a relief to know that this, too, will pass.

2 thoughts on “Affirmation Needed

  1. I wish I was there to totally pamper you! You are an amazing mommy. I LOVED being able to be there with skype. It was such a quiet, relaxed awesome experience. The kids were so peaceful and involved. Devo, despite his wrist hurting kept the pressure on. So calm and supportive. A wonderful wonderful birth! Hang in there! I love you!

  2. I LOVE YOU!!! And I think you are completely wonderful. I was wondering if your mom was there (the comment early on about her day being free). The previous comment now makes it all make sense! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

