Me With Three, end of Day One

  • I should have resolved to teach the girls to go to sleep without supervision before the advent of No. 3.  But, hey, better late than never, I always say.  Night Three and things are going very well.  I’m hoping that by the end of the week we can just put them in bed and be FREE!!
  • I’m wondering if there is a limit to how many times Amelie can spill water somewhere in the house.  On the carpet.  I’m hoping there is a limit.
  • Back in the saddle again.  Or maybe, On the Road Again.  Depending on your preference.  I’m snickering at my resolution to take things slowly and easily.  Ah, ignorance and innocence.  But I was just, oh, so unwilling to let go of my leisurely return to the reality of full-time motherhood and stay-at-home-ness.

I was reminded of a scene in The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax (Mrs. Pollifax books are always a balm for the soul).  Old lady CIA agent is abducted from Mexico City and ends up leading an escape party from her Albanian jail.  Leads it right over a cliff, where she falls and lands on a tree branch.  Farrell, her companion, is trying to coach and coax her off the tree branch suspended in space and onto a ledge in the cliff.

Mrs. Pollifax says, “I prefer staying with this tree branch, thank you.”

Farrell said nastily, “For how many years, Duchess?”

Indeed!

  • Levi is a flourishing infant.  Waxing fat.  Losing his neck.  He reminds me of a big fat burrito.  I like patting him.  🙂  He, himself, at two weeks of age, thinks that he is a one-month-old.  No more newborn for him.  <sniff>  We’ve already graduated to size 1 diapers (benefits of mothering experience…it only took two blow-outs to convince me to move up to what seems like gigantic diapers).  And today he is wearing his first 0-3 month outfit.  I prefer him to look like a swaddled burrito over a stuffed sausage.  We’re vegetarian, you know.
  • Amelie and Lia learned today the Art of Sibling Conspiracy.  We got home from the library and within two minutes they were both hiding under the crib with the package of finger paints (yes, opened, yes on the carpet, yes I hate carpets).  And later there was the sneak off to the tent with a pacifier each.  Oh, it’s so much more fun to get into trouble together!  Oh my, am I ready for this?
  • I’m thinking that I will begin blogging more facebook-style.  I can pop in and type out a one-liner with one-hand in one-minute.  Blogging, on the other hand, takes not only two hands and many minutes, but also mental fortitude.
  • Devo asked Lia if she missed him today.  She said, “No, I didn’t miss you, because I had your love in my heart.”  <sniff>
5 thoughts on “Me With Three, end of Day One

  1. Levi is already in 0-3? Benjamin is just now in them. Oh my. We have been in size 1 diapers for at least 2 weeks though. 🙂 But they are ginormous.

  2. Yay! Please continue to blog in whatever form works best for you, cyberspace would be lonely without you.

  3. Pingback: Living in a Shoe « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

