Cheese

Out of all the things I could (and the things I should) blog about, I’m just going to share my most exciting discovery of the week.  I haven’t been able to regain my equilibrium yet, it’s so exciting.

I’m having a great time with Animal, Vegetable, Miracle…reading in three paragraph sections.  Made it to chapter 9 and discovered cheesemaking.

Now, somewhere in my earlier life I remember someone somewhere disdaining cheesemaking…and I believed them.  And Laura Ingalls Wilder didn’t make it look much more appealing with the calf stomach bit, either.  And being that I seem to view cheese as an unfavorable addiction, I’ve never added it to my list of things I might want to do someday.

But, thanks to Barbara Kingsolver, I’m now super excited to order my 30 Minute Mozzarella and Ricotta Kit.  Heat your milk, stir in the enzymes, leave it over night, and the next morning – voila! – cheese!

Or something like that.

Can you imagine?  I’m so excited.

3 thoughts on “Cheese

  1. wow! that sounds yummy! I’ve made a soft cheese with raw goat’s milk. You heat your gal. of milk to boil. turn it off, add a 1/2 c. of lemon juice and stir it in. Let it set for 15 minutes and then strain it. ad garlic and chives and mix it all in, letting it drain in cheese cloth. And presto! You have it. And it is SO good too. I’ll have to see what you have been reading!

  2. Call Grandma Ruby and chat with her – she used to try cheesemaking! Something else she has tried – wonder where you get the urge to try different things from!!!

Leave a Reply

