Challah

Sabbath challahSabbath dinner with my first *successful* challah (the Jewish Shabbat bread).

And my first picture ever that didn’t include stuff on the floor like a laundry basket.  Or a dirty diaper.  Just a pink tricycle.

Also not included in the picture is the pot of lentil soup I intended make.  I chose to go swimming with my family instead.  I think that was the right decision.  Except that I’m still hungry.

But back to the challah.  Had a great time learning to braid it…thanks, Maya!

4 thoughts on “Challah

  1. Swimming definitely trumps lentil soup! I will have to try making Challah now. Looks like fun! Thanks!

  2. I never even thought about making a six strand braid. I just do two- three strand braids laying them side by side and topping them with the most important seventh strand.

  3. Laura made Challah tonight. Mmm.. yummy. I had it with left over lentils (Mmm…). But I was wondering if Challah is eatten like any other bread (with butter & jam, or DINNER ROAST 🙂 or is there an official way to eat it?

  4. Yum! I don’t think there is an ‘official’ or ‘traditional’ way to eat it. There is some stuff about covering it and the prayers to say. I’m still trying to find the perfect accompaniment – often by the time I get the bread made, there is not time or energy to do much else. Fruit and fresh mozzarella went over well.

Leave a Reply

