Playing Catch-Up

Sometimes my blog is silent because I have nothing to say, or because I have no time in which to say it, or because I believe in the wisdom of that old adage “when you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all”.

But luckily this week has been more of the formers rather than the latter.

Biggest news is that I caught the flu.  Again.  And it made me want to throw myself on the floor, kick my heels, and throw a screaming hissy fit.

But I resisted.

Went to bed early last night, fully medicated, bottle of milk supplied for Devo who was taking on the night feedings.  An hour later Amelie woke up and cried and woke Levi up who cried who woke me up…and I checked my temperature.  It was fluctuating between 102 and 105.  But not fluctuating at all for Devo (so it wasn’t the thermometer).

I made it to Urgent Care 4 minutes before it closed for the evening.  Glory be.

And in the process of gathering all the children into carseats (I didn’t want to go by myself with that kind of fever in the middle of the night) and running full speed into urgent care…my fever broke.  So the doctor saw me with a meek and sweaty 98.3.  Lame.

Weird thing is that in all these doctor visits nobody has ever offered to find out what kind of flu I have.  I want to know if I have the swine flu or not!  How are their statistics accurate if they don’t check people?  Huh?  Huh?

Feeling much better today and am assuming that this bout of the flu will be easier/faster than the first.

Other big news is that we chickened out on the Central California trip.  In the end we just couldn’t face 12 hours in the car going up and at least 8 coming back down.  Two hours in the car at a time seem to be our familial maximum.  Which worked out pretty well what with being sick and all (Devo’s brother, Emrich, is sick too, and the girls).  But I am terribly disappointed to be missing the tour of the goat farm.  Which would have been tomorrow, if we had gone.  <sniff>  And the Big Sur, of course.  But mostly the goat farm.

We have a few more things left on our list of Things To Do before Emrich leaves on Monday night.  The beach.  And Motherlode cake at Claim Jumper and Cheesecake at Cheesecake Factory.  We’re thinking it’s just going to be the beach.

Levi is rolling over.  Our most talented roller yet.  He rolls over and over and eventually gets stuck under a chair or some other obstruction.  Rolling is a legitimate form of transportation, I tell him.  And it’s so darn cute.

I’m getting psyched up to teach him how to sleep through the night again.  I need all the immune strength I can get and waking three or four times a night for 20 minutes or so is not helping.  At all.  I’m thinking that he won’t take too long to cotton to the idea.  But maybe that’s wishful thinking.

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch-Up

  1. I hear ya on the immune system. I’m trying to get Ezra to sleep through the night again too. Sorry you got the flu AGAIN! I had a fever last night too. Was wondering the same thing about statistics…hmmm

  2. So sorry to hear that your sick again! Levi needs to sleep through! Hope he will soon do that for you! Love you.

Leave a Reply

