Potty Training

I’ve neglected to mention the landmark event happening in our household…Amelie is learning to go potty!  Finally.  She is also becoming more eager to be a ‘big girl’.

So now our house is strewn with panties.  She likes changing her clothes as many times a day as she can get away with, so why shouldn’t she do the same with panties?  Feeling in a different mood?  Try a new pair of panties!

She trots off to the potty every half hour or so “by myself“.  I’m none too eager to accompany her to the potty that many times a day, so I let her go happily on her way.  But I think I need to at least peek my head in for a few days and see how often she really is going.  Lia pees three times a day – morning, noon, and night, like clockwork.  With an occasional extra trip.  Is Amelie a more frequent pee-er?  This is something I need to know before taking her out in public without a diaper. Running off to a public toilet is no small feat when dragging three small people with you as you make a wild dash for a (usually far off and/or occupied) bathroom.

And already, only a week or so into it, she doesn’t even come ask for her celebratory tictac after a successful potty venture. I don’t think she’s had an accident since maybe the first day.  So there are benefits to potty training a little later.

We haven’t yet managed the poo-poo, though.  She asks for a diaper.  I’ve promised her TWO tictacs for when she goes in the potty, but she hasn’t taken me up on the offer yet.  I’m thinking of uping the ante.  I’m ready to be done with diapers and done with pooping in public places.  Haha.

Our house was also strewn with toilet paper until I moved it up out of reach.  So today they swiped it off the counter and tp’d the back yard.  But they very kindly picked it up with no help from me when I asked them to.

4 thoughts on “Potty Training

  1. Yeah!!! One day you’ll look back and miss the days of poopy accidents! Okay maybe not…but it sounded so encouraging! How is the little baby manatee doing? You (for reasons understood by me…ie three kids) don’t post as much as I would like you know. 😉

  2. how exciting!! Go girl! 🙂 Have you ever come across a regressing in potty training? Hannah has been trained for a year now and suddenly she wants to go #2 in the diaper during naptime and wants to hold her pee indefinitely until it nearly falls out involuntarily. I’ve had to remind her to go potty again and give her rewards for poo. Unreal! Must be due to Nathan still in Diapers?? And wanting extra attention?? oh boy. Anyways…. so excited for your little gal! 🙂

  3. No pooping accidents! Yet. And being that she’s on the older side and asks for a diaper before she does her thing, I’m thinking we might bypass that whole eww adventure.

    No, never dealt with potty training regressing. But I’ve certainly heard about it!

Leave a Reply

