The Techno Life

I actually caught myself saying to the girls this morning, “Will you girls take a break from facebook and go make your bed?”

In defense of my parental integrity, they were just looking at the pictures of our family, with permission.

But still.  That’s so weird.

Lia and I have begun an ongoing set of conversations that go something like this :

Lia :: Mommy, did you watch WALL-E when you were little?

Me :: No, Lia, WALL-E didn’t exist when I was little.

Now take that conversation and substitute digital cameras (“What’s film?”), Starfall, iphones, youtube, etc., etc., etc.  Makes me feel like a dinosaur.

Speaking of technology, yesterday I made my largest homeschooling purchase to date.  On my aunt’s recommendation (she got it for her homeschooling grandkids), I went to check out talkingfingers.com.

Their philosophy is:

The Talking Fingers approach is based on a simple idea: text is speech made visible! We use our mouths to talk, to make the sounds of words. We use our fingers (with a pencil or keyboard) to represent those sounds on paper. When children learn to link speech sounds with letters, they can use the alphabet code to write any word they can say. Their fingers are “talking”.

Lia tried out their trial software and loved it.  I took a month to mull it over (I’m not one for rash financial decisions apparently), and yesterday finally ordered the K-4 Reading Bundle.  It’s shipped already, and I am very excited.  It seems like the perfect time to start Lia on typing — her finger dexterity on the piano is quite amazing for such a young one, and her reading has paired up with her sight-reading to boost both.  She’s not so interested in handwriting, but does enough of it to keep improving.  I’m anticipating how typing will expand her horizons – especially with regards to self-expression.

No hunt-and-peck typers in this family!

2 thoughts on “The Techno Life

  1. Thanks for all the reviews lately — I had Peter try Wordy Qwerty this morning and although it’s definitely advanced for him still, I liked it!! We’ll keep this on our radar. =)

  2. Pingback: Math Power « spinning in my teacup

Leave a Reply

