Amish, Baking Day, and Lasagne

I’m on my annual Amish kick.  Been reading Beverly Lewis – my favorite The Redemption of Sarah Cain.  (Note: they came out with a movie The Salvation of Sarah Cain – not as good as the book).  I read books about Amish to inspire me in my housekeeping.  And to make me want to wear a prayer veiling and drive a horse-drawn buggy.

There is something bewitching about lining up the family’s boots by size.  Except, of course, that we don’t own any boots.

I’ve been enthralled with the Amish for years.  There is something about their way of life that speaks to me at a very deep level.

Between the Amish and reading Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Farmer Boy with the girls, I am awash in old-fashioned housekeeping ideas.  Like Baking Day.

Tuesdays seem like a good Baking Day.

So we baked with a right good will.  Four loaves of bread, one batch of cinnamon rolls, focaccia for lunch.

Plus half an hour dusting out an old stone wheat mill someone gave me recently.  The girls are most prodigious dusters when supplied with paint brushes.  We ground our own wheat – in less than five minutes (after 30 minutes of cleaning the thing out – it’d been stored for years).  I’d always envisioned wheat grinding as being somewhat of a laborious process, but it was quick and easy and fun and it brings us just one step closer to being in touch with our food.

We tooled around delivering cinnamon buns – some to our neighbor, some to my Auntie Veena for her birthday, some to our friends with a newborn.  And, of course, we ate a respectable number ourselves.

And today we made lasagne – part of last week’s list of things to do.  The girls entertained themselves while I gathered ingredients.  Here are the KitchenAid attachments – husband, wife, and daughter.  Neighbors to a family of paintbrushes – again, husband, wife, and daughter.

The KitchenAid father (that would be the batter paddle) got shanghaied into mixing the tofu/egg/cheese mixture.  “Oh Father, oh Father, don’t get hurt!” As all the other family members peered over the edge of the bowl.

I’m glad to say he did his duty manfully and well.

Then we had the fun of delivering some to our friends who lost their elderly mother/in-law last week and to other friends who are in those precious first days of new parenthood.  I should have gotten a picture of the labels on the lasagne lids – made with love – and decorated with many wobbly hearts.

This is my mom’s lasagne recipe – the one that was so frequently requested at potlucks and parties in my youth that she should have invested in Prego shares.  You’ll notice that the lasagne is made with tofu.  Nobody ever knows that there is tofu in it unless they are told (and the tofu-haters love it).  It tastes delicious and cheesy, but with only a portion of the cheese.  Sweet.  The recipe is below – please note that it is in the great tradition of Go-With-The-Flow Cooking.

My Mom’s Delicious Lasagne Recipe

  • lasagne noodles, cooked
  • prego spaghetti sauce
  • tofu, crumbled
  • eggs
  • shredded mozzarella

Mix together crumbled tofu, eggs, and mozzarella – enough for it all to stick together.

In a baking dish layer sauce, noodles, tofu mixture.  Repeat.  Finish with a layer of noodles, sauce, and plain mozzarella.

Cover and bake one hour at 350.  At the end of the baking time, remove cover and broil until the cheese is bubbling and browning.

*Sometimes I doctor the sauce with Italian seasoning, and add a little salt to the tofu mixture.

5 thoughts on “Amish, Baking Day, and Lasagne

  1. I am enthralled at all your baking – and all done while knitting your socks by the fireplace at night – oops, while reading about knitting/darning your socks!! Beautiful food! Cinnamon rolls sound delicious! You continue to amaze me, wish your mother could be as organized as you! Not joking/very serious wish.

  2. This is totally cool. I tried knitting once…I nearly poked my eye out! I can crochet a mean blanket though…seriously people run screaming from it when they see my creation!

    My husband is among the tofu haters of the universe. We will work to convert him. Perhaps the father (kitchenaid beater) can share some wisdom???

    I love your blog!

  3. Mom, you’re so funny. And speaking of reading and knitting – I wonder if I could do it simultaneously.

    Deb, post pictures of your blankets! I do hope they are covered in yan yans. And just remember – if you don’t tell him about the tofu, he’ll never never know. That’s the secret.

  4. Ah, inspiration! I also love the old pilgrim books for the same reason (though Kit in The Witch of Blackbird Pond doesn’t seem as fond of those ways as the Amish). Now that I have this inspiration…what am I going to do with it? Benjamin is happily walking everywhere…we have discovered a new form of busy-ness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

