Quiet Time

Quiet, this blog has been so quiet.

For awhile it was quiet because I was enthralled with other people’s blogs, learning new stuff.  But I guess I’m over that because my reader is getting backed up and I’m sticking only with my old faithfuls.

For awhile it was quiet because I kept writing posts and then just tucking them into the drafts folder.  I have quite a collection now.  Don’t know why they stay there.  Maybe it was a case of chicken.

Currently it’s quiet because I get to the end of the day, and nothing there is truly representative.  The posts I conjur up in the daytime look vastly different to what comes out of my fingers at 8pm.  And I like the daytime stuff better.  So maybe it wasn’t a case of chicken, after all.  (It was a case of turkey, haha).

In daytime hours, it’s hard enough to get the space to do what critical thinking I’m required to do…much less recreational thinking. If you know what I mean.

But, ugh, I haven’t been doing much of anything in the evenings.  Not anything creative, for sure.  Some mindless internet clicking until I realize that what I’m reading just isn’t interesting me.  Read a chapter in a book here, a chapter there…none of the old stand-bys have been doing the trick.

The only thing I’ve been wanting to do after 8pm is to watch reruns of Scarecrow and Mrs. King.  Did any of you watch that?  We must have watched a great deal of it in my childhood, because as soon as the theme music came on, I was swept away with happy nostalgia.  Scarecrow has completely overtaken Iron Chef America, Devo’s and my previous mindless viewing choice.

But, hey, quiet isn’t bad!  Faithful does not necessarily equal constant.  I guess you could say that I’m consistently here some of the time.  Which is pretty good, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

