And then there were six…

My facebook status update, December 31, 2010 ::

Leilani is expecting the New Year to bring a new baby.

Devo’s facebook status update, simultaneously posted, because we’re cheesy sweet like that ::

2011: we’re expanding our home by two feet…around August 1.

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Hello, Baby #4, we’re so glad you’re coming!

When the auspicious 28th day passed with no sign of regular activities, we decided to hold off just one more day to take the test…one more day and it would be Lia’s birthday.  Lia, who has been waiting patiently for “the egg and the seed” to get together to make our new baby.  What better birthday gift, right?

I had purchased the economical Target brand three pack of pregnancy tests and tried the first one on Lia’s birthday morning.

But I had thrown away the package and couldn’t figure out what I was looking at.  Was I waiting for a plus sign?  Was the line in the first window the pregnant sign?  Rats, I couldn’t remember.  I used this brand with the last three pregnancies and I couldn’t remember.  I had looked at the instructions before I threw them away…and I couldn’t remember.

So I took another one.  And another one.

This is why I get the three packs.

So, no baby for Lia’s birthday.

The next morning, after a futile search on google, it dawned on me that I could just call Target and ask them to go look at the box.  And sure enough, the two lines that had appeared instantaneously (on all three tests) were indeed a positive pregnancy sign.

<roll eyes>

Don’t throw away the box, people.  Learn from me.

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Since I haven’t been blogging about this during these early days, I jotted down a few thoughts in my calendar to mark the passing days and passing thoughts.

Before taking the big leap of faith ::

I’m not ready to be tired for another year! I’m not ready to be tired for another year!

Before the positive pregnancy test(s) ::

I will be disappointed if I’m not pregnant.

After the pregnancy test(s) are confirmed positive by the Target pharmicist ::

O God, what have we done?

And over the ensuing weeks ::

I’m not ready to be tired again.  Still.

Take it {exhaustion, sickness, varicose veins, emotional upheaval} as it comes.  Just live with it. (this has been surprisingly successful)

Laura started blogging about Three Months of Joy.  I take the phrase ‘Three Months of Joy’ for my new motto and mantra…albeit with a different slant.

Niggles of fear…we’re opening ourselves to public disdain.  People will think we’re nuts.

Courage and affirmation.  This is my dream…I’m living my dream!

Uh oh, I’m feeling so good I’m wondering if there really is a baby in there.  First I’m worried that I’m going to feel tired and sick and now I’m worried that I don’t feel tired and sick enough.

Ready to tell people outside of our family…only to find that Lia had told at least three of her friends, who promptly told their parents.  Awww, sweet.

Received first “don’t you know what causes this” remark on Devo’s facebook status.  Spend time thinking of varied responses to this and other equally unwelcome comments.

Find out that one of my good friends is due on the same day, and that there are four or five of us at church all due this summer.

And here at nine and a half weeks, I’m feeling remarkably good, happy, joyful (!!!) and full of courage and optimism.

…………………………………………………………………………………..

…to face unafraid, the plans that we’ve made…

6 thoughts on “And then there were six…

  1. I’m so excited for you and your family! I’m also excited that we’re both pregnant again at the same time. =)

    By the way, I did the same thing with the Target test (my favored brand…the expensive ClearBlue easy digital thing gave me incorrect results every time…told me I wasn’t pregnant when I was). I read the results on the Target test and couldn’t figure out if I was reading a positive or a negative. I had to dig the box out of the trash. Ha.

  2. OH MY!!! 4 children! I am so not critisizing you. I am held in AWE. hehehe. However, my youngest is still only 4 months. So perhaps when she gets to be Levi’s age??? (GASP.) You go girl!! I hope all 9 of your months are as good as the first two and that you sail through pregnancy with nary an issue and deliver this beautiful baby into the world without a hitch. 🙂
    Congrats!! what a way to start the new year! 🙂 That’s how we did it last year! hahaha

  3. I am absolutely thrilled! And don’t forget I had a DREAM you were preggo…Margot’s head doesn’t really seem that big to me. 🙂 I love you!

  4. I’m so happy Leilani! Glad you’re feeling so good thus far! You probably will continue to do so if you haven’t gotten sick yet.
    You certainly won’t get, “don’t you know what causes that?” from me. Though my husband’s favorite replies are, “No, do you want to inform me?” and ” I do and I sure do enjoy it.”
    Glad to hear your family is growing. Blessings!

  5. Trisha, that’s so funny about the box. At least you hadn’t thrown yours out yet. 🙂 Yes, our new babies will be getting into mischief together!
    Sarah, I definitely didn’t feel like having another baby when I had a four month old, haha. Took 19 months with this one. 🙂
    Rachel, I’ve been considering snarky replies just like your husband’s!
    Thank you everyone for the good wishes!

Leave a Reply

