The last few things

I’m struggling to finish up the last details of my most recent purging/organizing circus.

I’ve been inching through the files and am all done except for four files that I’m not exactly sure where to put.  I started out with seven drawers of files and have four files left.  I can do this.

It certainly is affirming to see that the stack of scrap paper in the craft cupboard is now approximately 14 inches high.  That’s 14 inches of paper that was hiding in the drawers.  Not including what got recycled.  Yep, we’ve gone from seven drawers of files down to one drawer. <pat on the back>

(No, I didn’t chuck all of that stuff…some of it got put in magazine holders, some got moved to the garage to await future need, etc.  But alot of it did get chucked, and good riddance.  Also related…there was a reason why I’ve put this off for, um, four years.  Ugh.)

I bought four boxes (one for each child…the last is labeled “Baby”, awwww) for collecting child art and memorabilia.  I figure that around their birthdays I’ll go through the box and sort out the best stuff to go into a special childhood box (in the garage and out of the way!).  Brilliant.  Wish I’d done it years ago.

There are some places in the house where I’ve got it just right.  A place for everything and everything in its place, yes.  But also important is where that place is, how easy it is to access, and how much space it has.  This is what I’m working on this time round, dealing with those areas where it just doesn’t work well.

But, oh, I’m sooo close to being finished!  I just need to take a page from the Little Engine That Could.

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can. 

5 thoughts on “The last few things

  1. From Gram Patti – For me, it’s “I can think, I can think, I can think” ! Tee hee!

    May I get my files/boxes whittled and downsized in June. You are my inspiration! Again!

  2. Pingback: Front Room Reveal! (Because that sounds like I’m a blog groupie) « spinning in my teacup

  3. I guess, that like with most things, I’m like most people! Maybe I would have gotten farther in life if there had been a big ad campaign in my childhood entitled “just say no to paper clutter”! Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

