Early Days

I’d like to announce that I am writing today from my own, brand spanking, long-awaited (with groanings that cannot be uttered), new computer!

Ahhhhh.  

I do believe this is my first moment of Ahhhh with my new technology.  We’ve made it through the transferring and consolidating that comes with going from four devices into one (thanks, love!).  And now there’s a quiet moment, and I have everything at my fingertips.  Laaaaaaa.

Devo and I have been being more intentional about making time for me to be alone during the day to work or accomplish something or recharge and refresh.  Alone time after 8pm doesn’t count as alone time–that would be lick my wounds time.  Or dead as a doornail time.  Or, make like a marathon runner and collapse at the end of the race time.

I think it’s been three weeks or so now, and we seem to manage about three days a week (give or take) where Devo takes the kids swimming and I indulge in introverted revelry.

These pockets of time have gone a long, long way towards bringing me back to sanity, to happiness and joy, to a sense of accomplishment and purpose, to expansion and fortitude.

We started school this week.  A hike on Monday, our annual trek to the mountains to start off the year in the world’s best classroom.

And now, with two days of “school work” under our belts, I’m already assessing and reassessing and am thinking seriously of making some changes.

First off, a two hour morning nap for Kiri.  To commence as soon as Liana moves to the dorm (and out of Kiri’s room), if I can hold out that long.  Mischief this morning includes digging the Jamba Juice cups out of the recycling and helping herself and the floor to the residual yumminess. Throwing my school notebook onto the floor, where it popped open and all the pages came out.  Hollering during the time when everyone else was settled with coloring and ready to listen to this week’s chapter in Story of the World.

Next up, reduce, reduce, reduce!  I am aiming for three good, solid hours of “school work” in the mornings (with other learning in the afternoon, just not “official”).  I have a lovely schedule with assignments and activities laid out for each child (including Levi).

Apparently said schedule actually takes six hours instead of three.  Oops.

I’m fairly positive that after a week or so of settling in, my schedule would indeed fit into three hours.  But… I suspect that does not include any leeway for sticky Jamba juice babies or trips to timeout or any questions/conversation amongst learners.

It’s time to revisit the true goals and purposes we’ve identified for this year and whittle away the extraneous items.

I suppose I’ll click over on my handy dandy computer here and make up a new, revised schedule to try out on the morrow.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Early Days

  1. I’m curious what you’re doing with Levi. I’d like to start something with Holly but I don’t really know where to start. Suggestions?

  2. I’ve heard good things about the book “Slow and Steady, get me ready“. I’ve also pulled heavily from Montessori ideas in the past. Last year he had wooden puzzles, beans to sort, squares of fabric to fold. So far this year (all one day with Levi), he does circle time with us (singing, memory verses, Spanish dialogue, etc.). During math time, he has a choice of domino parking lot, pattern blocks, subitizing cards, tangrams, or a shape sorter. While the girls are working on their language arts books, I work with him on felt letters to learn their names and sounds. (Really like the consonant rhyme and vowel song from “The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading“). During reading, he alternately reads independently, is read to by Lia, or plays alphabet games with Amelie. Today he learned to make a braid for a history craft. He also enjoys practicing the piano after the girls – he finds and plays all the two black notes, and three black notes, the C’s, and then plays “trios” with me. I’m seriously on the lookout for anything that he will concentrate on. Luckily he seems to finally be settling down, as I see these periods of intense concentration more often.

Leave a Reply

