The Professor Tells It

Is the day done?  <looks around furtively>

OH, please, please, please tell me the day is finished.  That it is now time to patch myself back together again before tomorrow comes.

Duuuuuuude, what a day.

Funnily enough, I had a conversation with one of my college theology and philosophy professors this weekend.  He was a young parent, oh, 50 or 60 years ago, and often reminisces about those days with me.  There must be something about the company I keep that sparks the memory.

I don’t think he enjoyed the early days of parenthood, judging from the general gist of our conversations over the years.  (I think that, as many of his generation, he wasn’t around for much of the joy, so the challenges seemed overbearing).

This week he commented that infanticide really is understandable.

Bwa-HA, did he just say “infanticide”?

When the baby has kept you up for the 18th night in a row.

Or the eighth year. 

And it can be so challenging (insert continued conversation about the trials of babies and toddlers) that…

And he really said this..To me…

…so challenging that Leilani the B*#&h comes out.

He nods sagely.

 

Something to add to my list of favorite professorial quotes.

I was taken aback at the gall he had to verbalize the absolute crazy that comes out when parenting small children.  (Although, not thoughts of infanticide, blessedly.)

Parenting has brought out the very very best in me.  And it has also brought out the worst in me.  Ugliness that I didn’t even know I had the capacity for.

This is something we don’t talk about much, we mothers, we parents.  Maybe we should.

5 thoughts on “The Professor Tells It

  1. mmhmmm maybe we should. but do we have to????

    I have been appalled by my behavior. Didn’t know I had it in me. Makes me mad thinking about it. Parenting makes me mad. At myself, mostly. Grrrrrr.

    eerrhmm. so, the weather? cold here. bitterly.

    *hugs to you on this night of recovery before the trials of the morrow*

  2. Why are your posts so timely for me? 🙂 This was on my mind today. For years I thought I was a good and likeable person. And then I had children. I taught remedial math to classes of 30+ high school students for 8 years and the 1500 or so of them over the years didn’t do to me what my two (precious) babes do. My children don’t just magnify faults I already knew about, they manage to invite new ones. Seriously, how do they do that?

  3. Laura, I hear you on the “do we have to”? I think we don’t because it’s ugly and it’s scary and it’s reeeeeally easy to be misunderstood. I prefer to whisper these things, personally. 🙂

    Weather? Cool enough to enjoy, not enough to add extra clothing. Pretty nice break before the heat returns.

  4. Ahhh, I’m in good company here. I’m sensing a theme among us – Laura’s “didn’t know I had it in me”, your “don’t just magnify the faults I already knew about, they manage to invite new ones”. I wonder if it wouldn’t be as appalling if we were free to talk about it more openly and honestly. You know, that old counseling trick of saying something out loud and robbing it of its power….

Leave a Reply

