swimsuits

IMG_1286I calculated that we are buying the girls about three swimsuits per summer at $20 a pop so I thought I’d try my hand at sewing swimsuits and see if it’s a viable option.  It’s fun to sew things that get used all the time.
IMG_1287Raglan sleeves and simple shorts with snazzy silver polka dots.  It was a cinch.   Fun and easy.  (No elastic!)

IMG_1288

Except that my sewing machine doesn’t work.  It tries to but it’s just pretending, mocking me with its illusion of competency.  Skipped stitches, tangled bobbin threads.  Much veggie swearing.  Also, much seam ripping.  (When I said it was easy and fun, I’m kind of talking about how I envision it would be without mechanical errors).
IMG_1173I have my eye on a new machine.  A real machine.  The Bernina 1008 that a surprising number of my favorite sewing bloggers use comes well recommended.  It’s pretty pricey.  Pretty and pricey.  My birthday is not until February–it’ll take at least that long to save up.

IMG_0601

But I just got the Cambie dress pattern in the mail and I’m dying to make it.  I’ve had a vintage sheet (white with yellow flowers, so pretty!) squirreled away for just such a dress as this.  But am I going to make it with a machine that sews a faulty seam?  Am I?

IMG_0609

Of course, I need to buy a new bra before fitting the Cambie.  Bra shopping could very well  take me four months.  IMG_0475HA! Look at Kiri!  Diving in head first when no one’s watching!

IMG_0620She does it when people are watching, too.  Pretty much any chance she gets, she’s jumping into the water.

IMG_0469

I’m pretty sure she was just trying out one of Levi’s tricks.  She can keep up with this guy.  She’s gutsy and adventurous.  All in an understated way (see above photo of unobserved dive).

IMG_0463

King of Tricks.
IMG_0458He wants a swimsuit, too.

 

4 thoughts on “swimsuits

  1. Check your tension and your needle. Sometimes when you sew stretchy stuff, you need to adjust the tension and sometimes need a different needle. Also, when using thin or slippery material, sometimes I used to sew seams with paper under them, to give the machine a better grip. Hope you get it working or get that lovely Bernina. Envious of your sewing. Looks great!

  2. Thank you for the advice, LJ. I actually went through and spent about an hour changing needles, oiling, adjusting tension, etc. Even on regular quilting cotton and properly adjusted, it still skips stitches. I’ve read about using paper with slippery materials, but have never tried it. I’ll have to add that to my bag of tricks. Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

